I’m Writing a Novel!

Hi, everybody! I know I’ve been really quiet around here, and I apologize for being gone so long. My attention has been directed at clarifying some business goals this year – not to mention the moving, momming, other various things that have been going on. haha.

Anyhow, I started a writing challenge this week at Three Gems Publishing, headed by Esther Goldenberg. I’m looking at restructuring the way I blog (but don’t worry, that means I want to resume blogging here more often), and refining the content I bring you.

In the meantime, the book I’m writing is the story of a young girl who is left orphaned and has to maneuver through a strange world on her own, in the midst of chaos, disaster, and grief. I was inspired by Orphan Black (a sci-fi series centered on genetics), a couple news stories I’ve seen on scientific advancements, and the Black Lives Matter movement. Stay tuned!

I just started developing it, and my goal this week is to carry the story as far as I can in the limited time I have allotted (because it’s hard to focus on writing while you’re having to keep your attention on a toddler and a near-four-year-old). Confession, I sometimes feel jealous of writers who don’t have any distractions in the form of more emotional labor (i.e.  children, lol), because writing – as I’m figuring out – is also highly emotionally draining.

Anybody else feel this way? Gah!

Anyway, let me know what writing projects you have up your sleeve! I’d love to read some of your work and keep an eye out for it.

Speaking of writing/reading, I just read a blog post by Olga Núñez Miret about her new book, and a post by D.G. Kaye about her book specials. Check out both of these amazing women’s work, if you have a moment. I’m excited to read Olga’s new thriller, and in the first couple chapters of D.G. Kaye’s Conflicted Hearts, a memoir.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

