Can One Person Change the World? Not Alone.

Sometimes I don’t know what to do in the world. There are so many things going on in it that trouble me.  People lost, emotionally dying.  People literally dying as a result of war, violence, and hunger. People forced to do things they don’t want to do.  Corporations engaging in deals that are so lacking in compassion, one might wonder if the people leading those corporations even have souls at all.

It is all overwhelmingly sad, and maybe that’s why we like to close our eyes to the truth of others’ suffering.

I want to do my part to better our world, to shout out about systemic injustice.

It doesn’t feel like enough to sit at home and write about it.  It doesn’t seem like anyone is even paying attention when I write about it. 

But what, besides writing, would really suffice?  What action can be taken by just little ol’ me that can overturn the actions of millions of others who are complicit in the system?  In truth, I am complicit, too, in my inaction.

Where does one even begin, when so many different issues need our attention?

I’m feeling particularly sad and anxious to begin offering Reiki, despite the haters I might encounter.

Honestly, that’s one thing I think could be more helpful in a shorter amount of time than anything else I can think of.

It seems a lot to do, create a business from scratch with no experience in business.

But I think this is the best thing I can do right now to help our planet, our community of people, maybe even our world leaders and people in positions with more social influence than I have.

My blog began as a distraction, and now it seems it’s turning into a mission to turn up the volume on how to address the issues that affect us all, how to heal our planet through healing ourselves.

There’s just so much noise on the Internet that being heard at all seems like an uphill battle.

If you build it, will they come?

7 thoughts on “Can One Person Change the World? Not Alone.

  1. I often feel the same way as you J. I abhor injustice and have a hard time holding my opinions to myself sometimes. But don’t think words don’t matter, they do. Yes there are so many offerings out on the web and our writing floats in a sea of other writing, but spreading awareness is a good start. If we write about things and they get shared around and reshared, perhaps our message can be heard.
    And If I lived near you, I would have loved to take you up on Reiki. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thank you. That makes me feel like someone out there is listening.

      By the way, Reiki can be done at a distance. E-mail and phone sessions are just as effective as in person, just a little different. I am actually going to post soon that I am looking for a pool of ‘testers’ for free sessions in exchange for feedback. Maybe you can be in the pool. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

